top of page

Over Night Baked French Toast

Well you may have noticed but I have just been really into baking and cooking since we moved here. I have always enjoyed it but even more so as of late. Something about living here is pulling me to learn new things. It all feels like a crash course in old school and I am diving in. First, sourdough, then oven roasted chicken and bone broth. Would you believe that I just completed my first chicken harvest?!... Is that something you would want to hear more about?





But for today I thought I'd share this incredibly easy recipe I pieced together because frankly it just sounded good and I figured it would work out fine. It was absolutely delicious and super easy! I actually think this would be PERFECT for Christmas morning. Make it the night before, pop in the oven while everyone is opening and enjoy after all the excitement and splendor! Here is a list below of what you'll need to make this- most you probably have on hand!





Recipe:

  • 1 loaf of cinnamon swirl bread (I used Trader Joe's Maple Streusel bread)

  • 6 eggs

  • Generous sploosh of milk- about 1 cup (sub in 1/2 egg nog for extra festive flavor!)

  • 1 heaping tablespoon cinnamon

  • Dash of nutmeg

  • 1 generous tbsp raw honey

  • 1/3 cup raisins

  • 1/3 a block of cream cheese.

  • creme freche optional

Directions:

  1. Start by pulling all the slices of bread out and letting them go stale. I like setting the slices out on a cooling rack the morning of the day before I'm going to bake the french toast-this way they have nearly 12 hours to firm up a bit- 24 hours would be even better.

  2. Take a 9x13 baking dish and grease with butter of coconut oil. Break up the bread into pieces and chunks- this can be done by hand and then scatter half on the bottom of the dish.

  3. Next whisk together all the other ingredients except the raisins. Once mixed and combined, pour half evenly over torn cinnamon bread pieces.

  4. Next sprinkle half the raisins on top bread and milk mixture.

  5. Scatter the remaining torn bread on top the dish and pour over evenly, the remaining liquid and sprinkle the rest of the raisins. Make sure everything is evenly covered and mixed in with the milk mixture- I like to use my hands to press the bread in and make sure it's absorbing.

  6. Place in your fridge covered over night.


 


The Next Morning

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Take the french toast out of the fridge and remove covering.

  2. Take the cream cheese and pinch off bits to dot the top of the casserole with. Evenly wedge in small bits of cream cheese through out.

  3. Once oven is preheated, bake for 25-35 minutes or until the surface is toasty and the center doesn't jiggle.

  4. To serve, cut out a wedge and sprinkle with powdered sugar and a drizzle of maple syrup! Bonus points for a dollop of creme freche!




I found this recipe keeps quiet well in the fridge to eat on for a few days. Just pop a generous slice into the toaster oven or air fryer for a few minutes and as my hilarious and dear friend Ashley Harris would say, "Chef's Kiss!"


Let me know if your going to try this recipe below. If you want to hear more about chicken harvesting, easy recipes like roasted chicken and bone broth- let me know!

-Take Care,

Rach

100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page